Posted: April 3, 2017

The third annual Baltimore Area Model UN Conference (BAMUNC III) co-sponsored by Seton Keough and Mt. St. Joseph is over and was a great success. With senior De'Ara Graves as co-Secretary General, there were almost 250 high school students and 40 middle school students role-playing topics such as China in the South China Sea, the Trump Cabinet, Cyber-Terrorism, the Second Continental Congress and Marvel Superheroes negotiating Sokovia Accords.

The keynote speaker, Colonel Timothy Chafos, Executive Assistant to the Director, US Cyber Command, spoke on the topic of our General Assembly committee, cyber-warfare.

The newly elected co-Secretaries Generals from Johns Hopkins (in their first public appearance), Ajay Mehta and Anisha Anand announced the dates for the Johns Hopkins Model UN conference next February 8 to 11 and helped promote the training conference next October.

Committee sessions followed the opening ceremonies, both morning and afternoon. Junior Ryann Cooper organized a series of crisis interventions when SK and MSJ actors "disrupted" committee meetings in ways the delegates had to work together and quickly come to a consensus.

A poignant note was when the awards were given for the General Assembly. Sarah Leonard, a senior at Eleanor Roosevelt High School won the Best Delegate Award. In addition to winning the award, Committee Chair Shamerra McCoy told the delegates about Sarah's successful lobbying efforts and sharing her experiences and skills with our Government classes last November 8.

Another emotional moment was when De'Ara Graves told the delegates in her closing remarks that this would be Seton Keough's final participation in BAMUNC but that BAMUNC would continue.

Dijana Ismik, the Social Studies chair from IND came by and met the Model UN chairs who will be going there next year. She was very impressed and is eager to support our students in preserving our Model UN legacy. Thanks to everyone for their support over the last five years. — Social Studies Teacher and Model UN Moderator Mr. Donald Marchand